Because you’re my best friend

I will look for you in the morning at nursery and again when I wake up from my nap.

I will save you a seat at breakfast because I will always be at the table before you.

George and Niall sharing a joke.
George and Niall sharing a joke.

I will reach out my hand to you when I’m diving into the ball pool and pretend you are there jumping in with me.

I will tell you to be careful when you’ve bumped me on the head.

I will read you stories, wrestle with you and wrap my arms around you when you are sad.

I will cause mischief on your behalf and blame you because you left me.

I will cry when I realise you’re not coming back but I will forgive you because you’re my best friend.

The boys settling down for Thomas.
The boys settling down for Thomas.

And when I see you again, I will remind you that I am still yours.

I will miss you, Niall, and all of your trains. Thank you for being my best friend and for sharing my Birthday with me.

Published by

Joanne Harris

Hi, I'm Joanne (Jo) Harris, also known as Little Mamma Jo. As well as going on plenty of adventures with my son, George, I am the digital communications manager at UCL.

2 thoughts on “Because you’re my best friend”

Leave a Reply

